Land Rover ForumsLandrover Forum

Forum LZ Shop Gallery For Sale LZ - Live
Go Back   Land Rover Zone > Land Rover Talk > Land Rover Discovery
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Land Rover Discovery Got yourself a Disco? Get yourself in here! Forum Sponsored By: Mailorder4x4.com accessories & parts for your Disco Every Part Covered!

Welcome to Land Rover Zone!

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, photos and use our for sale section. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 6th-February-2014, 22:37
sierrafery's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West of Transylvania
Posts: 4,988
Default Re: disco problems

the immobiliser wouldn't let it crank neither... I have some doubts now that the dealer 'matched' well that ECM cos if they didn't it won't start as it must learn the security code from the BCU or it won't fire the injectors... I'm wondering why did they let you unsolved anyway.... schmucks

by the way, did you check if the crank signal reaches the ECM?...there must be 2-3V AC while cranking

Last edited by sierrafery; 6th-February-2014 at 22:40.
Reply With Quote
LZ
  #12  
Old 7th-February-2014, 17:03
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Default Re: disco problems

The crank signal is fine measuring as monitoring with my computersoftware.
Today had somebody who ownes a nanocom but didnt find any foults.
He tried to reprogram the BCU but this didnt work because he needed some entry codes.
Does anyone know where a can get those. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 7th-February-2014, 17:35
sierrafery's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West of Transylvania
Posts: 4,988
Default Re: disco problems

IMO not the BCU is the problem as long as it cranks...enter in engine management - programming - learn security code and it will learn it alone... as long as this engine didnt run at all or the ECM is in a "secure" status it will not store fault codes.... try on the working car the ECM which which was on this car when it stopped... you must just make it learn the security code of the other one cos it will run at idle without coding injectors...if that ECM works on the other car IMO there's an interruption in the engine harness somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 7th-February-2014, 17:58
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Default Re: disco problems

So if I understand well; even with a not programmed ECM the car should start and run idle?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 7th-February-2014, 18:05
sierrafery's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West of Transylvania
Posts: 4,988
Default Re: disco problems

not with non-programmed just with not coded injectors... you must make the ECM to learn the security code from BCU to run, the injectors must be coded to run well at high revs so just to test the ECM not necessary

so to make the engine fire up you must sync the ECM with the BCU security code and set the driver demand(2 or 3 way throttle)... it's not necessary to set injectors to make it run at idle
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 7th-February-2014, 18:16
sierrafery's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West of Transylvania
Posts: 4,988
Default Re: disco problems

by the way measure battery voltage while cranking...if it fails under 10V it will not start as the starter leaves the the ECM without power ...the Td5 is not like other cars it can crank for long but not start if the battery is not fully charged...and powerfull too, tou must have above at least 10.5V while cranking...the more the best
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 7th-February-2014, 18:17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Default Re: disco problems

The problem is not the injectors, its the power they receive from the ECM, I can hear the injectors when powered with nanocom, all five are clicking but when I turn the key nothing happens.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 7th-February-2014, 18:30
sierrafery's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West of Transylvania
Posts: 4,988
Default Re: disco problems

I think we don't understand each other... re-read my posts... all of them
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 7th-February-2014, 18:49
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 11
Default Re: disco problems

Sorry for misunderstanding but the nanocom is no longer here so I cant trie the things you prepose. I have ordered a nanocom myself, i expect it by tuesday so i'll have to wait till then. I will post again when I tried your preposal. Many thanks. Jan
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12th-February-2014, 05:11
Craiggillin1985's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Widnes
Posts: 81
Default disco problems

Will it crank ? Not just a simple starter motor or signal wire come off ??
Reply With Quote
LZ
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:56.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Page generated in 0.09559 seconds with 8 queries