Land Rover ForumsLandrover Forum

Forum LZ Shop Gallery For Sale LZ - Live
Go Back   Land Rover Zone > Land Rover Talk > Defender 90 / 110 / 130
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Defender 90 / 110 / 130 Defender talk n tips. Forum Sponsored By: Mailorder4x4.com accessories & parts for your Defender Every Part Covered!

Welcome to Land Rover Zone!

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, photos and use our for sale section. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 1st-January-2011, 21:52
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

The wiring diagram that BearDy89 provided shows how to the wire the spots in parallel, positive(red) and negative(black) to each spot then connect negitive to good ground point on chassis or negative battery post.

Last edited by bcervelo; 1st-January-2011 at 21:59.
Reply With Quote
LZ
  #22  
Old 1st-January-2011, 23:01
Gordo 90's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 60
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

Matt,
Make sure your relay is rated at least 30amps, I have four 55watt lamps at roof level with the relay feed wire connected to to main beam via a dash mounted switch, if you flash your main beam quickly IE flashing somebody out, the relay has to latch in under load then drop out again, this can cause the relay to weld in (stick in the on position).
This occured a few times to me, if it does you cant turn the lamps off, even if you turn the dash switch off! you will have to pull the power fuse or give the relay a clout with a screwdriver to break the contacts!
I cured the problen by fitting an oversized relay, I found one on fleebay rated at 80amps for a fiver.
Another little tip regarding the size of the cables, I took two lives and two negatives up to the roof bar, I connected two lamps on one pair and two lamps on the other pair, then under the bonnet I crimped both reds together into one yellow spade terminal (fit to the relay) and connected the two black negatives to a realy good earth (inportant).
You can take the relay trigger wire from the back of the instrument panel, connect a cable to the blue main beam warning lamp (this goes live when main beam is on) this can be a fairly thin cable, then break it near to the blue lamp with a 1amp fuse, run this cable to a convenient location where you want to mount a simple on/off switch, mount the switch and wire the thin cable through it, now run this cable through the bulkhead to the relay (if you have mounted the relay under the bonnet).
Then, if the switch is on and you energise main beam the relay should click on.
Now run a feed from the battery (with heavy cable 4 or 6mm) to the relay, fit a 25amp fuse as near to the battery as possible.
TIP, don't use household cable, it is solid conductor, motor or load cable should be multi-stranded and the more strands the better (that's why jump leads are heavy multi-stranded cable) they are called TRI-RATED cable.
Good luck, message me if I can be any more help. Oh Yes, dont get hold of the bulbs by the glass, the slightest bit of grease (even human) will blow the lamp apart when up to temperature, hold them by the matal base only!
Gordon. (sprarky to me mates)

Last edited by Gordo 90; 1st-January-2011 at 23:04.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 1st-January-2011, 23:21
instantsquid's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tadley, Hants
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

My relays for extra lighting live behind the fusebox panel inside the vehicle. I took the feed from the blue/white wire on the dip/main switch on the steering column. As above, I've fitted a switch for each pair of lights so that main beam can be used without them.
All my extra wiring is taken from a second fusebox that I added behind the passenger seat.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 8th-January-2011, 20:01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 24
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

A few weeks on and i still haven't got round too it. But tomorrow i will hopefully get arrn and do it. But i now face the problem of how do i wire all 4 spotlights to one piece of wire.?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 8th-January-2011, 20:09
instantsquid's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tadley, Hants
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerMatt View Post
A few weeks on and i still haven't got round too it. But tomorrow i will hopefully get arrn and do it. But i now face the problem of how do i wire all 4 spotlights to one piece of wire.?
First question - is the wire up to running all 4 lamps? I've wired my four roof lights up in two pairs, with 12.5 amp wire to each pair (my lights use a maximum of 5 amps each). You're gonna need some meaty cable to run all 4 at once I suspect.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 8th-January-2011, 20:15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 24
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

It's from ebay and it doesnt say but it's sutiable for wiring up 2 pairs of 55w spots, but i bought too kits
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 8th-January-2011, 20:18
instantsquid's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tadley, Hants
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

Then wire them up as two pairs - much safer. Use two relays driven from the main/dip switch, and if you want, fit two switches in the feed to relays so you can switch the lamps on in pairs (which is how I've done mine).
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 8th-January-2011, 20:21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 24
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

No i want all four spots to run off 1 Toggle switch. So wiring two spotlights up how do i wire the wire together with one piece of wire.?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 8th-January-2011, 20:22
The Mad Hat Man's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Embasinga stoc
Posts: 66,331
Send a message via MSN to The Mad Hat Man
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FarmerMatt View Post
No i want all four spots to run off 1 Toggle switch. So wiring two spotlights up how do i wire the wire together with one piece of wire.?

Just wire up the Relay trigger wires from the one toggle switch.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 8th-January-2011, 20:23
instantsquid's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tadley, Hants
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Wiring up spotlights.!?

Fine. Just use a single switch between the main beam switch and the relays (i.e. one wire in, two wires out). After that, wire them up as two pairs if you don't want to come home to a real fire
Reply With Quote
LZ
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:56.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Page generated in 0.14999 seconds with 8 queries