Land Rover ForumsLandrover Forum

Forum LZ Shop Gallery For Sale LZ - Live
Go Back   Land Rover Zone > Land Rover Talk > Defender 90 / 110 / 130
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Defender 90 / 110 / 130 Defender talk n tips. Forum Sponsored By: Mailorder4x4.com accessories & parts for your Defender Every Part Covered!

Welcome to Land Rover Zone!

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, photos and use our for sale section. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10th-March-2012, 18:48
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default td5 fault codes

my td5 is still cutting out
ive bought a hawkeye and fault keeps coming up injector long charge fault codes 3183 3184 ect
sometimes will celar and restart sometimes clear and then wont run more than a second and cut out with same fault any ideas
Reply With Quote
LZ
  #2  
Old 10th-March-2012, 19:10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 244
Default Re: td5 fault codes

What have you tried so far? Fuel supply, ECU plug, Injector seals??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th-March-2012, 19:18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: td5 fault codes

Where do i start

So far new loom new ecu full wiring loom fuel pump new injectors air flow meter Cylinder head

Im at wits end
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th-March-2012, 20:58
ratty's Avatar
I'm not special I'm limited edition
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stuck in a ditch somewhere in Somerset
Posts: 33,532
Default Re: td5 fault codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by carl2351 View Post
my td5 is still cutting out
ive bought a hawkeye and fault keeps coming up injector long charge fault codes 3183 3184 ect
sometimes will celar and restart sometimes clear and then wont run more than a second and cut out with same fault any ideas
when you say full wiring loom do you mean 'injector harness'? Or do you mean the harness AND the main wiring loom?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th-March-2012, 21:03
eightinavee's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Near Bath,SW UK.
Posts: 3,615
Default Re: td5 fault codes

Le ECU est Fubar.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th-March-2012, 21:18
ratty's Avatar
I'm not special I'm limited edition
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stuck in a ditch somewhere in Somerset
Posts: 33,532
Default Re: td5 fault codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by eightinavee View Post
Le ECU est Fubar.
It sounds like the most likely scenario but I have come across the wiring loom chafing through between the battery and engine before now. There is usually signs of damage to the conduit in this area if it is the case.

I don't suppose you know the usual place where the MAF/Throttle pot 5v feed is lost do you? I went out to a TD5 defender the other day that had hit water as speed and lost the 5v feed. I couldn't find the break at the side of the road and in the dark.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th-March-2012, 22:37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 244
Default Re: td5 fault codes

Has the new ECU been programmed with the new injector parameters?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th-March-2012, 22:44
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: td5 fault codes

yes i programmed ecu and ive tried 2 anyway i had one and bought another for good measure !
ive changed engine loom and main car loom even though i couldnt se eproblem
there is no oil in loom
ive tried crank sensor once think ill try another as i bought on ebay and who knows
its all a long shot
if this fails think i will have to abandon td5 and put 300 in which seems a big step buut cant have landrover i can only drive a few miles before failing
surely someone can help please
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th-March-2012, 22:50
ratty's Avatar
I'm not special I'm limited edition
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stuck in a ditch somewhere in Somerset
Posts: 33,532
Default Re: td5 fault codes

Quote:
Originally Posted by carl2351 View Post
yes i programmed ecu and ive tried 2 anyway i had one and bought another for good measure !
ive changed engine loom and main car loom even though i couldnt se eproblem
there is no oil in loom
ive tried crank sensor once think ill try another as i bought on ebay and who knows
its all a long shot
if this fails think i will have to abandon td5 and put 300 in which seems a big step buut cant have landrover i can only drive a few miles before failing
surely someone can help please
The ECU's that you've bought I take it are 'known' good ones? They're not ebay jobbies?

There are plenty of knackered ECU's out there.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th-March-2012, 23:10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: td5 fault codes

no not known but same fault across all ecu seems too far fetched i have my wifes td5 i guess i could try it but hers is a newer one so wouldnt work
Reply With Quote
LZ
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:29.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Page generated in 0.11115 seconds with 8 queries