Land Rover ForumsLandrover Forum

Forum LZ Shop Gallery For Sale LZ - Live
Go Back   Land Rover Zone > Land Rover Talk > Defender 90 / 110 / 130
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Defender 90 / 110 / 130 Defender talk n tips. Forum Sponsored By: Mailorder4x4.com accessories & parts for your Defender Every Part Covered!

Welcome to Land Rover Zone!

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, photos and use our for sale section. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11th-December-2013, 08:36
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 96
Default 300TDi Heating

Hi All,

I know this has been covered several times and I have indeed read most of the similar thread I can find, but they normally result in a similar answer of Thermostat. I've now tried 2 without much change.

Basically the 300tdi never seems to get warmed up properly and my heaters never get chance to chuck any warm air out which is a pain in this weather ... Would certainly be nice to have some warm air!

I go 26 miles to work and the temp gauge is only 4mm or so above the cold blob. So only just out of cold.

It gets to this point reasonably quickly, within say 3-4 miles, but then wont move from there. Every now and again it'll go up to the proper mid way point and normally in my excitement, I then turn the heaters on, hoping for some nice warm air, for it to then decide to drop right back down again.

Having been a bike only guy for the past 7 years I'm also a stipler for making sure an engine is warm, but I just cant get the Defender to warm up and it does worry me as I like to be sure it's getting warmed up.

I've changed the stat twice with no change. I re-built the head 3000 miles ago or so and it got a new water pump at that point to (cant remember, but it may of been a britpart), obviously fresh coolant.

Radiator is solid and was nicely flushed.

Pretty sure it's fully bled up etc ...

Just cant get it to get warm!

Also, I dont run a fan. Have an electric Mondeo fan on it which isn't wired up yet, so it's not a stuck viscous etc.

Any body have any suggestions???

Kind regards to all.
Reply With Quote
LZ
  #2  
Old 11th-December-2013, 09:13
timtheenchanteruk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Leeds
Posts: 4,299
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

2 things spring to mind, is it ACTUALLY not warming up, ie have you checked the temp on the engine itself as apposed to relying on the gauge.
id do that first, then check the cables for the heater are adjusted properly, the matrix is in good order and sealed properly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th-December-2013, 09:19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 96
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

Pretty sure the gauge is accurate. I have considered this and checked all connections and I gave the temp sensor a check over and all seemed to be giving the right signals out.

Like I say, it some times (not lately) rises up to the middle.

Also pretty sure the cables are ok ... If I swipe the left side all the way down, I have an extra click and I can get the full mild hurricane mode that seems to make more noise than anything else, but it does chuck a decent amount of air out ... It's just cold!

Heater box is nice an sealed.

Like I say, on the odd occasion that the needle goes properly up to half way and sticks there, I can then put the heaters on and it will give me warm air. I just cant get it up there or to stay there very often!

Thanks for the thoughts though! I will give them all another going over, but think they're all ok!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th-December-2013, 09:29
Oldseadog's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tynemouth
Posts: 6,845
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

Does your top heater hose get hot to the touch, whilst the bottom one remains relatively cool?

Is there debris in your air feed from the wing to the heater box that needs cleaning out?

If you short the bit of wire to the block, the one that goes to the temp sender to the gauge, does it swing right over to 'hot'? If it doesn't it could be that your sender isn't working properly.

Have you bled the system through the heater? If you haven't you could be air locked, which could affect the entire cooling system.

Let me know when you have checked these.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th-December-2013, 09:44
r06ert's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 245
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

mine stopped blowing hot air and was just a matter of disconnecting the two heater matrix hoses, sticking the garden hose on full into each twice for a minute or two and all was sorted, build of muck in the matrix i suppose, only had to do this once a year

both hoses to the matrix are hot, but suppose its no good if the matrix if full up with no hot ater but crap

must admit when i stop for a cuppa and have the engine running the temp guage goes down and cold air again, but probably the fan sticking like you said ealier
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th-December-2013, 09:52
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 96
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldseadog View Post
Does your top heater hose get hot to the touch, whilst the bottom one remains relatively cool?

Will check this one at Lunch!

Is there debris in your air feed from the wing to the heater box that needs cleaning out?

Air feed is nice an clear!

If you short the bit of wire to the block, the one that goes to the temp sender to the gauge, does it swing right over to 'hot'? If it doesn't it could be that your sender isn't working properly.

Will try and give this a go to! Must have a paperclip around here somewhere I can use to short it!

Have you bled the system through the heater? If you haven't you could be air locked, which could affect the entire cooling system.

Now this is interesting ... I bled the main system very very carefully, but never thought about the heater bit. I first filled through the Rad plug, then through the upper plug near the oil filler cap (cant remember what the square block section is called), then once that seemed clear of air bubbles and topped up, I never thought about the heater.

How would I go about this? Just to be sure? Is it the method r06ert suggested?

Is the the pipe that runs across the top of the head?

Let me know when you have checked these.
Please see red .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th-December-2013, 09:55
timtheenchanteruk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Leeds
Posts: 4,299
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

fan sticking or not shouldn't really make much difference, when the waters cooled, the stat closes, so no water running round rad.
Fan is there more for slow moving traffic, or when your stood still, once over about 15mph, the airflow through the rad is more than the fan pulls anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th-December-2013, 10:37
tetsu0san's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 360
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

I know you said you have fitted a new thermostat, but are you sure it's actually working?

Also, when the engine is running just undo that plastic bung on the top of the thermostat housing, see if there is any water in there.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th-December-2013, 10:44
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 96
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsu0san View Post
I know you said you have fitted a new thermostat, but are you sure it's actually working?

Also, when the engine is running just undo that plastic bung on the top of the thermostat housing, see if there is any water in there.
Both new thermostats work fine doing the usual trick. The old thermostat was also fine based on the same test, but replaced anyway just in case ... then again for a third stat !

They're cheap so thought I'd be sure!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th-December-2013, 12:18
Oldseadog's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tynemouth
Posts: 6,845
Default Re: 300TDi Heating

Quote:
Originally Posted by taazzukcb View Post
Please see red .
If you undo the upper hose jubilee clip on the heater and then with your thumb on the pipe, top up your reservoir until water comes out of the heater.

Replace the pipe. Job done

The other thing to check is that your earth is good to the block, as a poor earth will give you a much lower reading at the gauge
Reply With Quote
LZ
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Page generated in 0.11815 seconds with 8 queries