Land Rover ForumsLandrover Forum

Forum LZ Shop Gallery For Sale LZ - Live
Go Back   Land Rover Zone > Community > General Land Rover Chat
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Land Rover Chat Doesn't fit in anywhere else? Not sure where to post? Stick it in here and someone will move it if needed! :) Forum Sponsored By: Famous Four - Mail Order Land Rover Parts Specialists

Welcome to Land Rover Zone!

You are currently viewing our site as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, photos and use our for sale section. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old 21st-May-2009, 23:14
The Mad Hat Man's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Embasinga stoc
Posts: 66,292
Send a message via MSN to The Mad Hat Man
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

Quote:
Originally Posted by [JP] View Post
single? you mean single with 2 cores inside right? well, at least to bring the wire from the spot lights to the engine bay..

MHM.... little help please!!
I hope I can get sometime tomorrow after work to go down to Maplins in B'stoke and get the stuff...

cheers!
PM on way - pop in and see me - i am about 300yds from Maplins.
Reply With Quote
LZ
  #42  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 00:08
lerk's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Creswell, Derbyshire UK
Posts: 1,761
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

Here ya go, everything you need



You only need one fuse for your power circuit, mount it as close to the battery as possible.
The main beam trigger from the stalk (i talked about earlier) is already suitably fused.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 09:21
[JP]'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newbury, Berks
Posts: 3,976
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

Nice one lerk..thanks for that..
very professional drawing.. did you use Visio?

MHM, thanks for the offer and will see you later today.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 09:30
The Mad Hat Man's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Embasinga stoc
Posts: 66,292
Send a message via MSN to The Mad Hat Man
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

just one thing to add - the two switches could be incorporated in one off/on/on switch (like a side/headlight switch) so that you have off/on with headlights/on all the time positions. would save another switch position and having to remember which switch does what....

Toggle switch.



3 position light switch. replaces Lucas 31788.
Heavy duty with metal body and plastic toggle lever.
Switch body dimensions: 37x27 x31mm deep.
10A @ 12V, 5A @ 24V.





in the above circuit, common (to 86 on relay would be 4, main beam circuit would be to 6 and overide would be 8).
Attached Thumbnails
spot-lights-55w-100w-switch.jpg  

Last edited by The Mad Hat Man; 22nd-May-2009 at 10:05.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 09:30
Sean's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Orkney
Posts: 19,328
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lerk View Post
Here ya go, everything you need



You only need one fuse for your power circuit, mount it as close to the battery as possible.
The main beam trigger from the stalk (i talked about earlier) is already suitably fused.
that "optional isolator switch" isnt actually optional - it's required or else your mains would be on whenever the fogs were on as you'd be back feeding them

the only way you'd be able to have the fogs on (and the mains off) would be to isolate the mains feed from the connection to the coil live

and you should fuse protect the relay coil
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 09:41
The Mad Hat Man's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Embasinga stoc
Posts: 66,292
Send a message via MSN to The Mad Hat Man
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

covered with my 3 way switch, Sean.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 10:14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Stamford, Lincs
Posts: 2,586
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

Diagrams make things danting for me for some reason. When I have wires/fuse/switch in hand for some reason it seems more obvious and less complicated to me!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 10:21
The Mad Hat Man's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Embasinga stoc
Posts: 66,292
Send a message via MSN to The Mad Hat Man
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

if yu need a hand - pm me - come down and we can sort it.

but be forewarned - i dont cut corners
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 10:55
Sean's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Orkney
Posts: 19,328
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Hat Man View Post
covered with my 3 way switch, Sean.
yes but ..........

"they are about 10 and as I have 2 switches already I might as well use them"

Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 22nd-May-2009, 11:06
[JP]'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newbury, Berks
Posts: 3,976
Default Re: Spot lights - 55W or 100W?

Sean.. well spoted..
but as MHM says, don't like to cut corners, I also like a job properly done, so for the sake of a tenner I might "invest" on that switch and do a proper job of it...

I shouldn't have bought that wiring kit from the seller! doesnt even come with fuses.. ho well, live and learn, next time I'll just hang on till I have time to get to a proper shop..
Reply With Quote
LZ
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:13.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Page generated in 0.12070 seconds with 9 queries